skip navigation

Fastpitch Northwest awards scholarships to six

03/26/2018, 6:00am PDT
By Tom Mauldin

Six players from three states have added their names to the growing list of Fastpitch Northwest Softball Scholarship winners.

The 2018 winners include Tasha Vincett (Kittitas, Wash.), Riley Gentner (Pendleton, Ore.), Rhyanne Oates (Pilot Rock, Ore.), Hannah McNerney (Hood River, Ore.), Audree Montmeny (Yakima, Wash.) and Reylene Cortes (Middleton, Ida.).

Vincett, who has signed with Olympic Community College, led Kittitas to the state B2 quarter-finals. She also tore up the Fastpitch Northwest individual player rankings with big numbers in all categories, including 2.49 home to first clocking, 66 mph outfield arm speed, 79 mph ball speed off bat, 24.6 inches vertical jump, 44 foot power ball throw and a 10.97 home to home clocking.

Gentner is an infielder for Pendleton High School and earned all-league honors in helping lead the Lady Buckaroos to a league title and a state 5A semi-final appearance.

McNerney, who has signed with the College of Idaho, was named to the 5A all-state team as a pitcher as Hood River reached the state 5A quarter-finals.

Oates was named 2A all-state in helping lead Pilot Rock to a 25-6 season and a runnerup in the state 2A division. She has signed with Walla Walla Community College.

Cortes, who has also signed with College of Idaho, helped lead Middleton to Idaho’s state 4A title and a 28-win season. She is an all-league pitcher.

Montmeny, a three-time all-league catcher at Yakima’s A.C. Davis High School, has committed to Northwest Nazarene (Nampa, Ida.).

In order to qualify for one of the Fast[pitch NW scholarships, players must attend a Prospect Evaluation Camp, get invited and participate in the mid-summer College Exposure Tournament and you must apply and complete the application process.

Since Fastpitch Northwest began its scholarship program in 2011, 43 players have been recipients of $500 to $1,000 each in scholarships. All totaled, the Fastpitch NW family has donated more than $23,000.

"When I started the scholarship program in 2011, my hope was to give back in a financial way to players who have worked so hard to achieve their dream of going to college and playing softball," said Ken Olson, director for Fastpitch Northwest.

The majority of the previous scholarship winners have played collegiately. The 2017 winners are no exception with Kylie Hill(Walla Walla CC), Courtney Williams (Big Bend CC), Jessica Oules (Dordt College), Maddie Parker (Eastern Oregon), Jessica Smith (College of Idaho) and Landry Miethe (Lower Columbia CC).

The Fastpitch NW Scholarship application included four categories for applicants:

1. Fastpitch Northwest aims to empower women to become leaders through athletics. Provide a brief example of how you have used your skills as an athlete be a leader, specifically to empower others?

2. What do you think are the top three qualities of a leader; and why?

3. What do you hope to accomplish after college?

Briefly describe your involvement in the community, specifically our youth. More importantly, describe why you are involved.

Here is a list of previous Fastpitch Northwest Scholarship winners:

2017 Fastpitch NW Scholarship Winners:

Madison Parker, Pendleton High School (Pendleton, Ore.);
Landry Meithe, Warrenton High School (Warrenton, Ore.);
Jessica Smith, Minico (Rupert, Ida.);
Kylie Hill, Dayton High School (Dayton, Ore.);
Jessica Oules, Chelan High School (Chelan, Wash.);
Courtney Williams, Zillah High School (Zillah, Wash.).

2016 Fastpitch NW Scholarship Winners:
Dani McCauley, Baker High School (Baker/OR);
Niki Kawabata Baldwin High School (Maui/HI);
Shandler Kidd, Declo High School (Declo/ID);
Trinity Kies, Kittitas High School (Kittitas/WA.);
Makenzi Howard, Montesano High School (Montesano/WA.);
Jeaneva Senko, Baker Academy (Redmond/OR).

2015 FPNW Scholarship Winners:
Riley VanderVeen (Burlington-Edison/WA).
Lauren Maley (Ferndale/WA). 
Brit Verigan (New Plymouth/ID).
Tiah Grass (Pendleton/OR).
Kaili Ann Akimseu (Honolulu/HI). 
Emmalie Griswold (Caldwell/ID).

2014 FPNW Scholarship Winners:

Ally Burgess (Ellensburg/WA).
Lisa Sylvester (Bend/OR).
Sabrina Boyd (Pleasant Hill/OR).
Kendall Kramer (Bend/OR).
Jessica Woodruff (Tacoma/WA).
Kelsey Noble (Weiser/ID).
Lauryn Rhode (British Columbia, Canada).
Madison Parks (Orofino HS, Orofino/ID).

2013 FPNW Scholarship Winners:

Meridith Berrigan  (Bend/OR) .
Emma Brattain  (Adna/WA) . 
Ashley Pesek (Redmond/OR)
Megan Reed (Milton-Freewater/OR).
Nichole Schroeder (Olympia/WA ).
Makenzy Tarrow (Tumwater/WA).
2012 FPNW Scholarship Winners:

Shelbee Wells (Bend/OR).
Danielle Smythe (Chelan/WA).
Hannah Tometich (Aberdeen/WA).
Devon Murphy (Meridian/ID).
Regan Hyde (New Plymouth/ID).

Tag(s): Home