skip navigation

Fastpitch Northwest Offers Scholarships

02/05/2018, 6:00am PST
By Tom Mauldin

Early this year, several softball players will add their names to the growing list of Fastpitch Northwest Scholarship winners. The 2018 winners will be announced in April.

In order to qualify for one of the scholarships, you must apply.

Therefore, if you are a senior and played in the Fastpitch Northwest College Exposure Tournament last July in Centralia, now is the time to begin preparing your scholarship application with a goal of becoming a 2018 winner.

Since Fastpitch Northwest began its scholarship program in 2011, 37 players have been recipients of $500 to $1,000 each in scholarships. All totaled, the Fastpitch NW family has donated more than $20,000.

"When I started the scholarship program in 2011, my hope was to give back in a financial way to players who have worked so hard to achieve their dream of going to college and playing softball," said Ken Olson, director for Fastpitch Northwest.

The Fastpitch NW Scholarship application includes:

1. Fastpitch Northwest aims to empower women to become leaders through athletics. Provide a brief example of how you have used your skills as an athlete be a leader, specifically to empower others?

2. What do you think are the top three qualities of a leader; and why?

3. What do you hope to accomplish after college?

Briefly describe your involvement in the community, specifically our youth. More importantly, describe why you are involved.

Here is a list of previous Fastpitch Northwest Scholarship winners:

2017 Fastpitch NW Scholarship Winnes:

Madison Parker, Pendleton High School (Pendleton, Ore.);

Landry Meithe, Warrenton High School (Warrenton, Ore.);

Jessica Smith, Minico (Rupert, Ida.);

Kylie Hill, Dayton High School (Dayton, Ore.);

Jessica Oules, Chelan High School (Chelan, Wash.);

Courtney Williams, Zillah High School (Zillah, Wash.).

2016 Fastpitch NW Scholarship Winners:
Dani McCauley, Baker High School (Baker/OR);

Niki Kawabata Baldwin High School (Maui/HI);

Shandler Kidd, Declo High School (Declo/ID);

Trinity Kies, Kittitas High School (Kittitas/WA.);

Makenzi Howard, Montesano High School (Montesano/WA.);

Jeaneva Senko, Baker Academy (Redmond/OR).

2015 FPNW Scholarship Winners:
Riley VanderVeen (Burlington-Edison/WA).
Lauren Maley (Ferndale/WA).
Brit Verigan (New Plymouth/ID).
Tiah Grass (Pendleton/OR).
Kaili Ann Akimseu (Honolulu/HI).
Emmalie Griswold (Caldwell/ID).

2014 FPNW Scholarship Winners:

Ally Burgess (Ellensburg/WA).

Lisa Sylvester (Bend/OR).

Sabrina Boyd (Pleasant Hill/OR).

Kendall Kramer (Bend/OR).

Jessica Woodruff (Tacoma/WA).

Kelsey Noble (Weiser/ID).

Lauryn Rhode (British Columbia, Canada).

Madison Parks (Orofino HS, Orofino/ID).

2013 FPNW Scholarship Winners:

Meridith Berrigan  (Bend/OR) .

Emma Brattain  (Adna/WA) .
Ashley Pesek (Redmond/OR).
Megan Reed (Milton-Freewater/OR). 

Nichole Schroeder (Olympia/WA ).

Makenzy Tarrow (Tumwater/WA).

2012 FPNW Scholarship Winners:

Shelbee Wells (Bend/OR).
Danielle Smythe (Chelan/WA).
Hannah Tometich (Aberdeen/WA).
Devon Murphy (Meridian/ID).

Regan Hyde (New Plymouth/ID).


Tag(s): Home