skip navigation

Six players from three states win 2017 Fastpitch NW Scholarships

03/06/2017, 6:15am PST
By Tom Mauldin

Six players from three states win 2017 Fastpitch NW Scholarships

Six softball players have added their names to the growing list of Fastpitch Northwest Scholarship winners.

The 2017 winners were seniors Madison Parker, Pendleton (Ore.), Courtney Williams, Granger (Wash.), Kylee Hill,  Amity (Ore.), Jessica Smith, Rupert (Id.), Jessica Oules, Chelan (Wash.) and Landree Miethe, Warrenton (Ore.).

Since Fastpitch Northwest began its scholarship program in 2011, 37 players have been recipients of $500 to $1,000 each in scholarships. All totaled, the Fastpitch NW family has donated $20,000.

"When I started the scholarship program in 2011, my hope was to give back in a financial way to players who have worked so hard to achieve their dream of going to college and playing softball," said Ken Olson, director for Fastpitch Northwest.

Here’s a brief look at the 2017 Fastpitch Northwest recipients:

As a junior, the 5-1 Parker batted .339 with an on base percentage of .453 as Pendleton reached deep into Oregon’s 5A playoffs. An all-conference outfielder, Parker has signed with Eastern Oregon University.

Williams, a second baseman for Zillah High School, was named to the All-SCAC WEST squad. She batted .452, scored 38 times, drove in 25 and had an on base percentage of .647 as a junior.

Hill was named Oregon’s 3A Player of the Year, as well as a MaxPreps Small School All-American in 2016. Hill led Dayton (Ore.) to the State 3A finals when she batted .570 with .624 on-base and 1.100 slugging percentages. She hit 13 doubles, five triples, 11 home runs, had 61 RBI, scored 42 runs and had a .986 fielding percentage. A third baseman who also catches, Hill has signed with Walla Walla Community College.

Oules, who plays for Chelan High School, is a three-time first-team all-Caribou Trail League selection. In 2016, she batted .577 with a .620 on base percentage. She played every inning for Chelan as a junior and was named team MVP.

Smith, an infielder for Minico High School, was named to the All-Great Basin League all-star squad as a sophomore and junior. 

Miethe, who has signed with Lower Columbia Community College, was named 3A All-State as a junior after stealing 50 bases and batting .602 with an on base percentage of .684. She slugged .797 and scored 42 runs. Miethe plays outfield and catches.

“Receiving the scholarship from Fastpitch Northwest is truly an honor,” said Parker. “I attended for four summers in a row and through this, I built some amazing friendships with softball players all over the Pacific Northwest.”

The Fastpitch NW Scholarship application included:

1. Fastpitch Northwest aims to empower women to become leaders through athletics. Provide a brief example of how you have used your skills as an athlete be a leader, specifically to empower others? 

2. What do you think are the top three qualities of a leader; and why?

3. What do you hope to accomplish after college?

4. Briefly describe your involvement in the community, specifically our youth. More importantly, describe why you are involved.

“There is no greater exposure than what you get at Fastpitch Northwest. The directors Ken Olson and Tom Mauldin are phenomenal,” noted Parker. “They really made me feel like family and did anything to make sure I got recognized. This program is an amazing experience and something that I would plan my summer around. I am honored to have been a part of something so great and to have received the scholarship.”

Here is a list of previous Fastpitch Northwest Scholarship winners:

2016 Fastpitch NW Scholarships:
Dani McCauley, Baker High School (Baker/OR);
Niki Kawabata Baldwin High School (Maui/HI);
Shandler Kidd, Declo High School (Declo/ID);
Trinity Kies, Kittias High School (Kittias/WA.);
Makenzi Howard, Montesano High School (Montesano/WA.);
Jeaneva Senko, Baker Academy (Redmond/OR).

2015 FPNW Scholarship Winners:
Riley VanderVeen (Burlington-Edison/WA). 
Lauren Maley (Ferndale/WA).
Brit Verigan (New Plymouth/ID).
Tiah Grass (Pendleton/OR).
Kaili Ann Akimseu (Honolulu/HI).
Emmalie Griswold (Caldwell/ID).

2014 FPNW Scholarship Winners:
Ally Burgess (Ellensburg/WA). 
Lisa Sylvester (Bend/OR). 
Sabrina Boyd (Pleasant Hill/OR). 
Kendall Kramer (Bend/OR). 
Jessica Woodruff (Tacoma/WA). 
Kelsey Noble (Weiser/ID). 
Lauryn Rhode (British Columbia, Canada).
Madison Parks (Orofino HS, Orofino/ID).

2013 FPNW Scholarship Winners:
Meridith Berrigan  (Bend/OR) .
Emma Brattain  (Adna/WA) .
Ashley Pesek (Redmond/OR). 
Megan Reed (Milton-Freewater/OR). 
Nichole Schroeder (Olympia/WA ). 
Makenzy Tarrow (Tumwater/WA). 

2012 FPNW Scholarship Winners:
Shelbee Wells
Danielle Smythe (Chelan/WA). 
Hannah Tometich (Aberdeen/WA). 
Devon Murphy (Meridian/ID). 
Regan Hyde (New Plymouth/ID).


Tag(s): Home